Sasha Zamler-Carhart  bio • composition • singing • contact 


Sponsus (Toulouse 2012) 1h20

An oratorio on the biblical parable of the foolish and the wise virgins, for five singers, violin, double bass, guitar and accordion. It is inspired by an 11th-century liturgical drama and reuses the original medieval text in Latin and Occitan, as well as new Occitan text by poet Alem Surre-García and new French text by Sasha Zamler-Carhart. The piece was commissioned by the Déodat de Séverac festival to promote artistic creation in Occitan. It was premiered in Toulouse (France) on November 27, 2012, with a scenography by Nico de Rooij.

I Fioretti in Musica (New York 2010) 60'

Le Roman de Fauvel (The Hague 2009) 2h

Le Pli (Amsterdam 2012) 60'


The Death of the King of Bandjoun (The Hague 2006) 40'

Restatement of the Doctrine of Preparation (2015) 1h30


Saxophone Quartet No. 1 "Yukiguni" (Hiroshima 2013) 15'

Saxophone Quartet No. 2 "Frullatore" (Hiroshima 2014) 7'30

Saxophone Quartet No. 3 "Disco Night at the Visconti Court" (Hiroshima 2015) 5'30

Een nieuu musyckboexken (Amsterdam 2005) 19'

Music for Two Recorders (The Hague 2008) 11'

Missa Ioannis Damasceni (Amsterdam 2007) 9'


Livre de pièces de clavecin (Tokyo 2014) 40'

St. Francis String Quartet No. 1 "The Birds" (New York 2012) 6'

St. Francis String Quartet No. 2 "The Wolf" (New York 2012) 17'


The Unexpectedly Retarded Tuna (Tokyo 2012) 3'

Worte ohne Lieder (Maastricht 2006) 5'

KaZoo (London 2004) 5'

© 2019 Sasha Zamler-Carhart. All rights reserved.